‘Proud and Grateful’: Keuka College Marks Opening of Academic Year 

Employees were honored for their service and dedication to the College during Community Day ceremonies.

Wednesday, August 24, 2022
2 min. read

It was two parts commemoration, one part information, and a whole lot of celebration as Keuka College’s faculty and staff gathered on Tuesday, Aug. 16, to kick off the academic year during Community Day.

“I am so glad to be here with you all,” said College President Amy Storey, who emceed the event. “I am proud and grateful for your dedication and service to the College. What you do makes a difference in the lives of our students every day. Our graduates are proof of that.”

Some 150 College employees filled the Geiser Dining Commons as President Storey welcomed new employees and provided brief – and largely positive – financial and admissions updates.

The audience also heard a videotaped message from Student Senate President Aubrianna Renfrew ’24, who thanked the faculty and staff for their support, for making the College feel like home, and for providing a positive community for the College’s students.

The bi-annual event allowed the College to spotlight some of its many standout faculty and staff. Among them was Associate Director of Marketing Katie Fitzpatrick ’14, who received the prestigious Legacy Award, which honors sustained outstanding achievement in harmony with the College’s values.

Mental Health & Wellness Coordinator Steven Stage, in just his first year with the College, was named Staff Member of the Year. 

Five members of the College’s staff were honored with the Oak Award, which recognizes sustained collaborative efforts to further the mission of the College: 

·      Assistant Professor of Nursing Dr. Susan Bezek ’01 

·      Assistant Director of Athletics Michelle Broadhurst

·      Business Applications Administrator Steve Cross

·      Director of Admissions Ashley Larimore ’13 M’21

·      Professor of History Dr. Chris Leahy 

Other faculty and staff members were honored with the College’s Acorn Award, which recognizes noteworthy accomplishments throughout the year: 

·      Director of the Writing Center Catherine Agar

·      Admissions Coordinator Becki Bailey

·      Manager of IT Infrastructure and Security Michael Burke

·      Senior Financial Aid Counselor Sally Daggett ’93 M’07

·      Program Manager in the Division of Humanities and Fine Arts Megan Granata

·      Assistant Director of Athletics for Athletic Communications Jimmy Habecker

·      Marketing and Communications Generalist Kassondra Kreppein

·      Assistant Director of Inclusion and Belonging Brenden Navarro

·      Instructional Designer Deb Rasmussen ’92

·      Accounting Supervisor Kayla Robinson ’16

Colleagues also shared the College’s distinctive glass acorn, a token of appreciation publicly passed among faculty and staff at each Community Day in recognition of their embodiment of one or more of the College’s values. Receiving the honors were:

·      Associate Registrar Dawn Beckley

·      Director of Housing and Residence Life Bob Brophy

·      Technical Solutions Developer Andrew Force

·      Program Manager in the Division of Humanities and Fine Arts Megan Granata

·      Marketing and Communications Generalist Kassondra Kreppein

·      Director of Student Accessibility Ken Walker

President Storey highlighted three employees who recently earned a master’s degree from the College: HEOP Counselor Heidy Padilla ’20 M’22, Resident Director, Esports Instructor, and Esports Head Coach Garret Stauffer ’20 M’22, and Assistant Director of Admissions Annie Stull ’20 M’22.

The president also commemorated members of the Keuka College community celebrating milestone anniversaries. 

Fifteen-year service awards were presented to Associate Vice President and Director of Athletics Jonathan Accardi ’09, Executive Assistant to Vice President for Academic Affairs Doreen Hovey, Adjunct Instructor of Social Work Denise Larsen, Professor of History Dr. Chris Leahy, Adjunct Instructor of Management Amy Mech, Adjunct Instructor of Management Paul Orr, Professor of Chemistry Dr. Andrew Robak, and Adjunct Instructor of Management Judy Spakoski.

Twenty-year service awards were presented to Professor of Social Work Stephanie Craig, Adjunct Instructor of Social Work David Mashewske, and Vice President for Online and Continuing Education and Associate Provost Dr. Tim Sellers.

Additional appreciation was presented to those celebrating five and 10 years of service to Keuka College.